Love and Hate

I’ve always believed there is a fine line between love and hate. Once hurt is thrust into the middle, there is a transition. My stepfather was like two completely different people. He was compassionate, loving, generous and fun when he was sober. He was hateful, vicious, abusive, and destructive when drunk. It was like living with two different people. It kept you on your toes, finding out which person he was at any given moment. As an adult, my feelings in this regard have not changed much. I miss the gentle and loving man that was my stepfather. I love him still after all these years. I also hate that mean and abusive man who was addicted to alcohol. When I started writing my novel, I did some research and found out he was still living in another state. He is in his 70’s now. I couldn’t imagine he would be in great health taking into consideration his heavy drinking for many years. However, you don’t need to be very strong to pull a trigger. That’s the reason my family and I remain “hidden” so that he will not be able to find us. At this point and time, he may not think of us at all. I think of him often, both the good times and the bad. I wish him nothing but love and happiness. I am able to do this now, as an adult, because forgiveness has given me freedom. I have learned to be thankful for the lessons I have learned.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Love and Hate

  1. rudy r. roger

    love your work,sweetheart. don’t quit. your hard work will pay off in the end. you’ll see. i love you.

Leave a Reply

