Little Sisters

This weekend I read the book, HEAVEN IS FOR REAL, by Todd Burpo. This little boy, Colton, who visited heaven, came back and told his parents that he met his sister that his mom had miscarried years before. It was heartwarming to say the least. In my novel, POP, I tell of my baby sister, Heddy, that only lived for one day. After bearing stress and abuse from my stepfather, Mom hemmorraged and almost died herself. Heddy’s death twisted my heart and left me wrung out to dry. I had feelings of wanting another little sister to care for, love and protect. Yet, I knew in my heart that it was perhaps better that she didn’t survive. I know this sounds heartless. But, the physical, verbal and emotional abuse endured daily at our house was intense. I worried that a baby would never survive. I felt like I had my hands full with just one little sister (who was not an infant). HEAVEN IS FOR REAL, gave me hope that I would see her again one day, and she and I would know each other. She would love me and understand my mixed feelings without any hesitation. I have to believe she was the lucky one, only enduring one day on Earth and rising quickly to sit on the lap of Jesus.I have told myself that for years, and now it seems more “FOR REAL”.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Little Sisters

  1. Liz

    That is wonderful Chris, I hope this book help you out on your on situations you had to go through as a child. Im sorry you had to go through the things you did, I wish I would of been older myself to save you. Love you always.

    Liz

  2. Sonya

    It’s unreal what you had to endure as a child. No child should have to carry that burden. You are such a beautiful person inside and out and I’m so proud that you’ve allowed God to make you better, not bitter. Thanks for sharing, Love, Sonya

  3. Linda sprague

    Oh my gosh, what a heart felt story. I did not know this! The more you tell about your life, the less I feel I know you. You have some many dark corners in your life. I feel so bad for you, the more I read. How much you went through! Unbelievable! And still the woman you’ve become today! Wow! Love you!

Leave a Reply

